Home > Gaming > Black Ops and Assassin’s Creed Pre-orders Skyrocket

Black Ops and Assassin’s Creed Pre-orders Skyrocket

Call of Duty Black Ops Cover from IGNAssassin's Creed Brotherhood Cover from IGN

[tweetmeme source=”GamePush” only_single=false https://gamepush.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/cod-and-ac-pre-orders/%5D

Over at IGN, it says that Black Ops is getting close to selling more pre-ordered units than Modern Warfare 2. Also, Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood is selling (pre-ordered) copies at a faster rate than Assassin’s Creed II.

IGN says:

Pre-orders for Call of Duty: Black Ops are outpacing those of its predecessor Modern Warfare 2 as Treyarch’s Cold War shooter is set to shift 12 million units in the months following its November release.

The figure – culled from estimates by analyst Evan Wilson of Pacific Crest Securities – is still shy of the 16 million that Modern Warfare 2 shifted over the Christmas period last year, but it’s a sign that headshots and killstreaks will once again dominate the festive period.

The same deal seams to be with Assassin’s Creed. Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood is selling more copies in less time than Assassin’s Creed II, and much more than Assassin’s Creed I. You can read my previous post about Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood.

As for Black Ops, I guess you can say I have a whole theory set up for it. Let’s think back to the COD4 days. COD4 was a great game, and brought more people into the gaming industry. Then COD: WaW was released. It was all right. Zombies was cool, multiplayer was okay, being in the plane on campaign was fun.

It had lots of flaws though (not as bad as MW2’s flaws though!). The splitscreen interface was horrid. You couldn’t change the game volume during a game, even though they had the option to (there was no accept button, and probably still isn’t one).

One flaw that annoyed me a lot was DLC and matchmaking. I had DLC 1 & 3. The second DLC wasn’t appealing to me. Many of my friends bought it though. Whenever I would play with them, at the bottom it would say, “mygamertag does not have DLC 2. DLC 2 is disabled!” What… a… lie. The maps from DLC 2 would still be matched with us. This happened plenty of times, and it was very annoying.

Looks like Tropic Thunder to me

They look so similar! I just had to make this. This post needed more color anyways. (Click for original source)

Anyways, eventually everyone dumped WaW and went to COD4 again. Then we have Modern Warfare 2. Modern Warfare 2 brought in tons of people to the gaming industry, way more than COD4. I know plenty of people who own an Xbox and one game, MW2. I figure it’s the same deal all across the map. Maybe not the part about having one game, but the part about only playing MW2.

All these people don’t have many games to compare Modern Warfare 2 with, so they don’t really have any problems with it. Most people will buy Black Ops just because it’s the next game in the Call of Duty series. They have probably seen the commercial and think, “Oh a new COD! I’m going to buy it.” What they don’t know is that it is being made by Treyarch. Treyarch does a lot of different things with their COD games. Much different than Infinity Ward.

I think the migration from MW2 to Black Ops will be much like the switch from COD4 to WaW. It will last a while, but eventually everyone will move back to MW2 (except me, I’ll be on COD4 :D). Most people will probably only use Black Ops for the (returning) Zombie mode.

Well, that’s what I think is going to happen with Black Ops. Even if other people agree with me, Treyarch doesn’t care. As long as people buy it, they’re happy.

As for me, I’m not buying Black Ops, probably never will (I don’t like Treyarch, as you can tell). And to be honest, I probably won’t be buying any COD game within a couple weeks after it’s been released. World at War was a mess, and Modern Warfare 2 was a bigger mess. I’d rather wait it out before getting involved in an even bigger mess than Modern Warfare 2.

There’s way to many games coming out this Fall anyways. Black Ops doesn’t have any room. I mean, I’m interested in buying Brink, Halo: Reach, NHL 11, FIFA 11, Fable 3, Assassin’s Creed, and Gears of War 3. All of those games, with the exception of Gears, are being released within a 3-month timespan. That’s not even all of the games being released! That’s just the ones I’m interested in. Black Ops just doesn’t make the cut for me.

In other news (wow, I really just used this phrase again. Where’s my thesaurus?), Assassin’s Creed is looking better every time I see a new trailer, even if I watch the same trailer twice. The demo description over at IGN sounds like a lot of fun. The

Assassin's Creed Brotherhood Jester

multiplayer looks fun too. It should be a nice break from all of the running and gunning multiplayer games.

Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood won’t be pre-ordered by me though. Once again, too many games. I already have a couple weeks reserved for Halo Reach. I’d rather let Halo sink in for a while, then go buy Assassin’s Creed.

So, what do you think about Black Ops and Assassin’s Creed? Will you be pre-ordering them? Leave a comment on your opinion. It’s nice to see what other people think about the topics I post about.

Sources: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/110/1105423p1.html http://ps3.ign.com/articles/110/1105423p1.html
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment